BC Care Awards

Everyday B.C.’s seniors care providers engage in challenging and inspiring work to ensure the quality of life for older adults. The BC Care Providers Association proudly celebrates the exceptional passion and commitment of individuals who provide the best care possible.

The Hon. Adrian Dix, Minister of Health, has been invited to present the awards to the winners in the following categories:

Event Details:

Tuesday February 27 2024
5:30 – 10:00 pm
Fairmont Empress Victoria

Registration is now open for BC Care Provider Assocation | EngAge BC members. Click here to register. 


  • Service Provider + Associate Member Tickets (up to 5 tickets) – No charge
  • Service Provider + Associate Member Tickets (6 tickets and more) – $100
  • Commercial Member Ticket – $100

Preferred room rates are available at the Fairmont Empress. Reservations must be made before February 6, 2024 to qualify for the group rate. Bookings can be made using this link or by calling the Reservations Department at (250)384-8111. Attendees should identify themselves as part if the BC Care Providers group.

Thank you to our 2024 Sponsors who make this event possible:

Reception Sponsor

BC Care Provider of the Year | Home Health

BC Care Provider of the Year | Assisted Living


BC Care Provider of the Year | Long Term Care

Family Champion


Ed Helfrich Long Service


Workplace of the Year (New!)

Swag Bag Sponsorship and Training Sessions

Previous Award Winners

9th Annual BC Care Awards (February 2023)

BC Care Provider of the Year:

Family Champion Award: Kim Slater

Ed Helfrich Long-Service Excellence Award: Karen Biggs 

8th Annual BC Care Awards (February 2022)

BC Care Provider of the Year:

Safety Champion: Ionel Prodan, Victoria Heights, Good Samaritan Society

Ed Helfrich Long-Service Excellence: Dave Cheperdak, Retired CEO, Broadmead Care Society

Family Champion Award: Lynda Steele, radio and TV broadcaster

7th Annual BC Care Awards (Fall 2020)

For the 7th Annual awards there was a change to our format. Individual Care Provider of the Year and Safety Champion awards were presented virtually during SafeCare BC’s Hearts and Hands online conference for health care assistants in October 2020. Links to the 2020 winners and presentations by CEO Terry Lake in the posts linked below.

The Ed Helfrich Long-Service Excellence Award for that year is being formally presented as part of our June 2022 Annual Conference.

BC Care Provider of the Year:

Safety Champion: Cindy Kaufmann
Ed Helfrich Long-Service Excellence: Karen & Otto Froelich and Judy Reefschlager

6th Annual BC Care Awards (February 2019)

BC Care Provider of the Year:

Safety Champion: Erin Terry
Ed Helfrich Long-Service Excellence: KD Riar

For all BC Awards related updates, follow the tag bc care awards.

Sign up for our e-newsletter

    Subscribe To Our Sector Updates